An official website of the United States government

The Constitutional Convention
June 30, 2017

A 1940 painting hanging in the U.S. Capitol portrays George Washington presiding over the 1787 signing of the Constitution in Philadelphia. Courtesy of the Architect of the U.S. Capitol

The first 13 states of the Union functioned almost as independent countries. Delegates to the Constitutional Convention unanimously accepted and signed the final document on September 17, 1787, completing the first step in establishing a new form of government. Because the document required ratification by three-quarters (nine) of the 13 states, the debate moved from Philadelphia to the state legislatures.

(Pamphlet, 4 pgs.)

PDF – web عربي (458 KB) 中文 (1 MB) English (669 KB) Português (1 MB) Русский (1 MB) Español (1 MB)